Keep and Share logo     Log In  |  Mobile View  |  Help  
 
Visiting
 
Select a Color
   
 
Criminal Law: What DWI Lawyers In Texas Can Do For You

One of Texas's most common criminal infractions is driving while intoxicated or DWI. Imagine a simple night out with colleagues or a night at the club, you tell yourself you can handle it, but you make the wrong decision to drink and drive. You’re pulled over by a police officer and charged with DWI. In such a situation, it is essential to understand that Texas's criminal law is strict regarding DWI offenses.

 

Texas Criminal Law On DWI

 

You can be charged with DWI in Texas if your blood alcohol concentration or BAC is at least 0.08%. If you are younger than 21 years old and driving, you can be charged with DWI even when your BAC is as low as 0.02%. The punishment for a DWI charge in Texas will depend on the case's circumstances and the offender's criminal history. 

 

The Criminal History Of The Offender

 

The courts in Dallas TX will look at the offender's criminal history when determining the punishment for a DWI charge. The penalties for offenders with no criminal history may include jail time, probation, and alcohol education classes. Offenders with criminal records may face harsher punishments, such as longer jail sentences and heavier fines.

 

  • If it is your first DWI offense and you have a clean criminal history, the penalty could range anywhere from 3 to 180 days in jail and up to $2,000 in fines.
  • If you receive two DWI charges within ten years of each other, it is considered a second-offender charge which means more severe punishments, including up to one year of jail time and fines of up to $4,000.

 

The Circumstances Of The Case

 

The Dallas courts will also consider the circumstances of the DWI offense when determining criminal punishment. Suppose you are involved in an accident that causes injury or death. In that case, your charge could be upgraded to aggravated DWI, and you may face criminal charges such as vehicular manslaughter or assault with a deadly weapon. Likewise, if you had excessive BAC levels, the punishment may be even stricter such as 180 days to 2 years in jail and a maximum fine of $10,000.

 

What A DWI Lawyer In Dallas TX Can Do For You

 

If you have been charged with a DWI offense in Texas, finding an experienced DWI lawyer in Dallas TX who can help you fight the charge and reduce or even dismiss the punishments associated with your case is crucial. A criminal defense lawyer will be able to review all of the evidence gathered against you and identify any weaknesses that may benefit your case. 

 

They can also negotiate on your behalf for a lesser sentence or even a dismissal of charges if possible. Additionally, they can advise on how best to proceed with your criminal case and defend you in court.

 

Criminal law in Texas is strict regarding DWI offenses because the consequences can be severe. Your operation of a motor vehicle while drunk can put your own life and the lives of others at risk. It is essential to understand the criminal law on DWI in Texas and be aware of what a DWI lawyer in Dallas can do for you when it comes time to defend yourself against a charge. 

 

Contact The Medlin Law Firm To Defend Your DWI Case

 

Finding yourself facing criminal charges is never pleasant. This is especially true when it comes to DWI charges in Texas—a state where criminal laws are stringent when it comes to driving while intoxicated. Make sure you understand criminal law and know what a DWI lawyer in Dallas can do for you by contacting The Medlin Law Firm today. Go to www.MedlinFirm.com

 

 

More info
The Medlin Law Firm in My Lawyer Directory
Driving directions

 

photo

 

 

The Medlin Law Firm
2550 Pacific Ave #866
Dallas, TX 75226
(214) 888-4810


Creation date: May 3, 2024 2:03pm     Last modified date: May 6, 2024 4:19pm   Last visit date: May 10, 2024 12:39am
1 / 20 posts
May 3, 2024  ( 1 post )  
5/3/2024
2:03pm
Medlin Law Firm (medlinfirm11)

One of Texas's most common criminal infractions is driving while intoxicated or DWI. Imagine a simple night out with colleagues or a night at the club, you tell yourself you can handle it, but you make the wrong decision to drink and drive. You’re pulled over by a police officer and charged with DWI. In such a situation, it is essential to understand that Texas's criminal law is strict regarding DWI offenses.

 

Texas Criminal Law On DWI

 

You can be charged with DWI in Texas if your blood alcohol concentration or BAC is at least 0.08%. If you are younger than 21 years old and driving, you can be charged with DWI even when your BAC is as low as 0.02%. The punishment for a DWI charge in Texas will depend on the case's circumstances and the offender's criminal history. 

 

The Criminal History Of The Offender

 

The courts in Dallas TX will look at the offender's criminal history when determining the punishment for a DWI charge. The penalties for offenders with no criminal history may include jail time, probation, and alcohol education classes. Offenders with criminal records may face harsher punishments, such as longer jail sentences and heavier fines.

 

  • If it is your first DWI offense and you have a clean criminal history, the penalty could range anywhere from 3 to 180 days in jail and up to $2,000 in fines.
  • If you receive two DWI charges within ten years of each other, it is considered a second-offender charge which means more severe punishments, including up to one year of jail time and fines of up to $4,000.

 

The Circumstances Of The Case

 

The Dallas courts will also consider the circumstances of the DWI offense when determining criminal punishment. Suppose you are involved in an accident that causes injury or death. In that case, your charge could be upgraded to aggravated DWI, and you may face criminal charges such as vehicular manslaughter or assault with a deadly weapon. Likewise, if you had excessive BAC levels, the punishment may be even stricter such as 180 days to 2 years in jail and a maximum fine of $10,000.

 

What A DWI Lawyer In Dallas TX Can Do For You

 

If you have been charged with a DWI offense in Texas, finding an experienced DWI lawyer in Dallas TX who can help you fight the charge and reduce or even dismiss the punishments associated with your case is crucial. A criminal defense lawyer will be able to review all of the evidence gathered against you and identify any weaknesses that may benefit your case. 

 

They can also negotiate on your behalf for a lesser sentence or even a dismissal of charges if possible. Additionally, they can advise on how best to proceed with your criminal case and defend you in court.

 

Criminal law in Texas is strict regarding DWI offenses because the consequences can be severe. Your operation of a motor vehicle while drunk can put your own life and the lives of others at risk. It is essential to understand the criminal law on DWI in Texas and be aware of what a DWI lawyer in Dallas can do for you when it comes time to defend yourself against a charge. 

 

Contact The Medlin Law Firm To Defend Your DWI Case

 

Finding yourself facing criminal charges is never pleasant. This is especially true when it comes to DWI charges in Texas—a state where criminal laws are stringent when it comes to driving while intoxicated. Make sure you understand criminal law and know what a DWI lawyer in Dallas can do for you by contacting The Medlin Law Firm today. Go to www.MedlinFirm.com

 

 

More info
The Medlin Law Firm in My Lawyer Directory
Driving directions

 

photo

 

 

The Medlin Law Firm
2550 Pacific Ave #834
Dallas, TX 75226
(214) 888-4810